There’s Still Nothing Better

Standard

Howdy and welcome back to my blog.

Today was a day of unusual weather. That is, unusual for Burbank, California. It was 87, cloudy with 100% humidity. The buzzing things were down and the birds were quiet except for a few stray parrots. And, for a long while there wasn’t even a breath of a breeze.

Had I been living in Texas I would have been thinking, Tornado weather!  But I don’t have to worry about that in Cali.

Then, it started to sprinkle. Just a few little raindrops and I was transported back to my childhood and days of playing under a gentle summer rain. There was never anything better back then.

I waited all day for that summer shower, teased by the occasional droplet. But it didn’t come until after dark, sometime around nine I think it was, when I heard it begin. I didn’t recognise the sound, so unfamiliar in Southern California. Unheard of during the summer months until my son exclaimed, “It’s raining!”

In my pajamas, hair still wet from my evening bath, I dashed out.

Yes. I dashed.

Barefoot, like a child I stood there not caring that my clothes were getting wet. It felt so good. Good to have the rain on my head, running down my back, cooling my bare feet as I stood on the sidewalk just beyond the cover of the blooming Crape Myrtles.

There’s still nothing better.

~ K. L. Parry ~ Author of The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Good for you! I’m glad your son got to see you enjoying the rain and I love that you didn’t care about your clothes or your neighbors in your excitement. I’m glad there are people like you who aren’t afraid to embrace the weather! Keep on dancing in the rain! 🙂

  2. Pingback: It Wasn’t Perfect « Following The Dream

Leave a Reply

