Turkey Legs at the Renaissance Faire

Standard

Howdy, Folks! In last week’s blog  “Following the Dream” I posted a few pictures from my day at The Original Renaissance Pleasure Faire. This week I’d like to expand on that a little.

I was so pleased when my friend, Carol, called me to ask if I wanted to go to the faire with her. Of course my answer was, YES! By the way, she got a great 2 for 1 deal on Groupon.  

So I shook the moths out of my old costumes, I couldn’t believe that I found one that fit, and we headed out to the Santa Fe Dam Recreation area here in sunny So. Cal. The site, located next to a lake was ideal and the weather was perfect, though the threat of rain served to discourage a large crowd. I couldn’t have been happier about that, seeing there were no lines to swelter in at the food court.

It was easy pickin’ ordering Turkey Legs and Baked Potatoes. Too bad I didn’t think to question the ingredients that went into the potato toppings I had added. Within the hour I was forced to park myself  in the “Privy”, suffering from a reaction to gluten.

Ah! When am I going to learn.

But, I was not going to be waylaid by a cheese spread. Determined to ignore the excruciating intestinal cramping, I cowgirled up and made my way to the nearest stage. That is where I was treated to the musical styling of Circa Paleo and the gifted violinist, Jenny O’ Connor. Her stage presence along with her tremendous talent had me mesmerized.

Now that I’ve found them through Goggle, I’ll be purchasing one of their CD’s.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we were off  to see the Clan MacColin Irish Dancers from the Guild of St Andrew.  Everyone Dances in this troupe including the musicians. 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Make way for the Queen!” and her procession. Which we did as we were making our way to the Joust. Perhaps if we had made it to the 3:00 show instead of the 5:00 we might have seen more jousting and less rolling in the dirt. I’ve seen better, but not in a long while so I won’t complain…, much.

 

 

 

 

What I hadn’t seen before were the aerialist. Suspended Reality preformed in the fashion of story telling  with the tale of Oberon the Fairy King’s search for his Queen.

Love to show you more pictures but due to the constraints of this blog I can’t easily load them without screwing  up what I’ve already done. So, let me close by saying that despite tummy trouble, I had a great time and look forward to next year’s faire.   

 

 

Don’t forget, next week’s post will be to my other blog “Following the Dream”.

Until then, wash your hands frequently, the flu’s going around.

~ K.L. Parry ~ Author of “The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom

5 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you got to go to the Faire! I’ve always wanted to go, but the nearest is several hours away and alas, I have no costume! I’m sorry you were sick for part of the time, but I hope you get to return next year and that you feel great for the whole day! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • You’ve got to go at least once. And a long flowing skirt and a peasanty blouse is all you need for a costume. Thrift stores are packeted full of them. Thank you for visiting. 🙂

      • Thanks for the tip! I’m getting ready for an amateur “Lord of the Rings” themed dance in September and was needing a costume for that too, so maybe the outfit will serve for both!

Leave a Reply

