Red Carpet, VIP Experience!

Standard

Happy New Year and welcome back to my blog. I do hope everyone had a safe and enjoyable holiday. Mine was a bit of a roller coaster ride of emotions with the joy from time spent in the company of family, a grueling work week and the passing of my beloved Auntie. But it has re affirmed in me the importance of making the best of every day. To never let slip the opportunity to do something kind for someone and to relish the moments shared with those I love.

So, a couple of weeks ago I made mention of some of my plans for family fun during the Holidays. The first was Universal Studios and I was not disappointed. They had the whole place decked out in full Christmas regalia complete with the biggest Christmas Tree I’d ever seen. The theme was taken from the Dr Seuss book, “How The Grinch Stole Christmas

I may be 50 something, but inside I’m still the kid that rides the roller coaster and gets her picture taken with Grinch and Max.

Although they do have a few thrill rides, like Revenge of The Mummy and The Simpson’s Ride,  Universal Studios emphasis is on stage shows and visual entertainment.  I did ride the Mummy, with my eyes closed and laughed all the way through the Simpson Ride while my oldest son found it made him a little queazy. We were all impressed by Terminator 2 in 3D and the King Kong 360 – 3D (that was part of the Studio Back Lot Tour). That being said, I was disappointed that the back lot was so poorly lit for the evening tours. We could not see a lot of the out door sets. One would think, with the expense of a park ticket, that they could afford to light the whole place. Despite that, I will stamp my recommendation on the tour with this criteria; be sure you’ve got at least a couple of hours of daylight left before you board the tram. All in all, Universal Studios was great fun and I would absolutely recommend it for pre-teens and up.

Our next adventure I almost want to keep to myself. Because, I don’t want to share! It was The Gold Class Cinema in Pasadena. This theater is one of a small chain of  6 theaters scattered around the States owned by iPic Theaters. Wow! Talk about a literal Red Carpet, VIP experience! Once you’ve checked in at the front desk, mirrored escalators transport you down into a low ceiling lounge where you are greeted by a well dressed and friendly staff. Although they don’t have any formal dinning space set up, the comfortable lounge seating is quite conducive to dinning and conversation. Their menu offers a variety of eats from “Lamb Pops” at $19.00 to Street Tacos and Sweet Potato Fries. The dishes are appetizer portions but I found that the 3 lamp pops, served with a mound of mashed potatoes, was enough to satisfy me and quite delicious. They also have a full service bar, which I did not take advantage but my son’s did, ( I didn’t want to feel groggy during my movie experience.) The lounge also offers several specialty drinks unique to that establishment.

But we are here to watch a movie and what a glee full surprise it was to enter into a 40 seat theater equipped with fully reclining chairs, blankets and pillows upon request along with a wait staff to provide you with beverages or any food item off their menue. That’s right Sally, you can enjoy a cocktail or two from the comfort of your recliner, wow! You can go on line and actually choose your seats ahead of time! But, I must say,  all the seats in this intimate setting are good. No obstructed views, no crying children, why you don’t even notice the waiter delivering drinks to your neighbor.

I and my family were so impressed by this place that despite the $24.00 ticket price, (after I’d signed up for the free membership), plan on making it a regular part of our theater going experience. Beside, it almost cost that much at any regular theater when you throw in a bag of popcorn, which, I might add, is complementary at Gold Class Cinema. AMC, Phooey! I give Gold Class Cinema the highest of recommendations!

Gold Class Cinemas

One Colorado Pasadena42 Miller Alley

Pasadena, CA 91103

Phone: 626-639-2260

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you how the movie was! Great! We saw Sherlock Holms Game of Shadows. Love, love, love Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law in these roles. Spectacular scenes and plenty of action. Witty dialogue and an engaging story line all rolled into a big hit in my book. Thanks guys for bringing us another awesome flick.

See ya next week. Until then, Buy MADE IN USA !

~ K. L. Parry  ~

Leave a Reply

