Storm Troopers and The Little Princess

Standard

Well, it has been a busy couple of weeks. Between work at my jobs and Christmas preparations I haven’t had much time left for my other pursues… not that I’m complaining, I LOVE IT!

Now, I’d like to touch briefly on a subject that has been brought to my attention a couple of times over the last several years. That subject would be Spelling and in particular, MY Spelling. People, most of my blogs are written in the wee hours of the morning and once I’ve finished, I do employ spell check to correct my errors. However, it’s not fool-proof particularly when my eyes refuse to focus any longer. Then there is the occasion where I intentionally change the spelling of a word such as “Linner”. Linner is the meal between lunch and dinner… Linner. I apologize if my play on words is not always made clear to every reader. And lastly, “Rebbecca“. I know that is not the correct spelling of the name, but I like the visual appeal of this spelling and it still reads the same. So there, get over it!

On to other things. I have a story to tell you. Last week, it was early morning around 4:00, I woke to the sound of a voice. It was coming from my kitchen, mumbling incoherently. (Now, my bed, I set up each night in the living room so that is how I was able to hear the voice from my kitchen.) At first, still half asleep, I just found it curious. But, as I began to wake fully, panic set in as I realized there was a stranger in my home. It was very dark in my little apartment and I kept still to my bed, thinking on how I was going to get my hands on the nine iron that stood across the room, propped against the wall. I knew if I was to make a dash for it, I’d be seen. So I tossed out that idea, (silly, I don’t know why), jumped out of bed, dashed to the kitchen and flipped on the lights. I’m not sure what I was considering for my defence, but thankfully I found the kitchen unoccupied. I was relieved until I saw my cat, her arched back reaffirming that there was indeed something a miss and not  a case of an over active imagination having its way with me. Then, I heard the voice again. What! It was coming from the four-inch plastic Storm Trooper that sat a top my kitchen table, a gift for a friend. How can that be? I knew it was supposed to be a talking figure but I had discovered, after getting it home, that the mechanism was not working. I thought to myself, paranormal activity, haunted toy! Visions of Twilight Zone episodes and Karen Black with pigmy dolls chasing her flooded my thoughts. I steeled myself and picked up the toy to confront the entity. It was then that I discover the shrink wrap tightly depressing the talk button on the doll. Relief flooded over me as I quickly grabbed a knife and sliced off the wrap. Needless to say, I was a bit rattled from the experience as I returned to my bed, pulling the covers over my head. I delivered the gift first thing the next morning. I wasn’t taking any chances..  ha.

A screenshot from the film

Now for a couple quick reviews of what I consider some Classics.  The first is “The Little Princess“, starring Shirley Temple, 1939. Still one of my favs. this movie is the story of a young girl in Victorian England. The daughter of a wealthy military man, she is thrown into an impoverished existence when her father is reported to have been killed in a military action and his financial holdings seized. Refusing to believe her father dead, she disobeys her warden, sneaking out to search for him.

I was fortunate to find this on DVD at a local drug store for $1.99  What a treat! Classic film making at its best!

Theatrical release poster

Next is the original (I believe) version of “A Christmas Carol”, starring Reginald Owen, 1938. It is the story of a miserly old fool by the name of Ebenezer Scrooge who upon the eve of Christmas is visited by the ghost of his business partner in an attempt to persuade him to change his miserable and unhappy life. The message is certainly one worth reminding ourselves of at any time of the year.

If you have Charter Cable, you can view this at On Demand in the Free Movie section.

“I am a princess. All girls are. Even if they live in tiny old attics. Even if they dress in rags, even if they aren’t pretty, or smart, or young. They’re still princesses. All of us.” – Quoted  from the 1939 film The Little Princess

Merry Christmas~ K.L. Parry

Leave a Reply

