Davis, Here I Come! ~ Part 2

Standard

Yeah! Welcome back to Part 2 of “Davis, Here I Come!” which, should have been titled  “Here We Come!” cause I wasn’t alone. Sorry Cindy.  

Meanwhile back at the bachelor pad, after a brief discussion with my son, it was decided (by him), that we were to forgo a hotel bill and set up camp at the apartment. Woo hoo, more cash in our pockets for fun stuff! Then we were off, my son Beau, sister Cindy and myself, to check out the town and get a bite to eat. We ended up choosing Thai Canteen on E Street, located in the downtown district of this college town and what a great place. Resembling something of a cafeteria, the food was far from cafeteria quality. Now I wish I could tell you what the exact names of the dishes we ordered were, but I was kind of gaga from the drive. Even looking at the menu now, I can’t remember what it was that I ordered, only that it was a duck soup. But it was delish and so were the other two dishes that I tasted. I did love that they had a standing pitcher of lemon water ready for refills should I have wanted more.

Now this town was hoppin’ as the clock rounded 10:00 pm on a Tuesday night. There were people everywhere, mostly college students I assumed, judging by their ages. I did very much feel like the visiting parent and everyone we came in contact with were extremely polite and nobody gave a damn when I lit up a cigarette outside the restaurant, thank you. (I say this because in Burbank, where I live, they won’t even allow you to smoke on the downtown sidewalks …which is why I refuse to frequent it except for a couple of times a year when I need a lamb chop fix from one of the restaurants located there. I order it to go. It is just one of too many ridiculous laws put in place “for our own good”).  Just keepin it real, folks.

Now, when my son said the town was run by students, he wasn’t kidding as was evidenced by the youthfulness of the staff in every business we passed. Really, I didn’t see anyone that looked like they were even approaching 30.

After a quick trip to the local Target to procure an air mattress, it was back to the apartment because, after all, it was a school night.

The next morning, it was decide that my sister and I would do a little site seeing. We drove, all of five minutes, back into downtown Davis, parked the car and set out walking. The very quaint town was fairly quiet, probably because everyone was at their classes. We strolled past the Hot Dog Hut where they make their own hot dogs fresh everyday. Cindy had one and said it was great. We probably could have used a guide to direct us away from the multitude of eateries and stores selling sporting equipment as we soon tired of that. We then decided to go treasure hunting, heading out of Davis and finding a huge thrift store just outside Sacramento, 15 minutes away. Then it was back to meet the boy and make a stop at the weekly Farmer’s Market where we found, of all things, chocolate honey. I didn’t buy a jar but Cindy did. I would have made myself sick eating it, it was that good.

The rest of the evening was spent with my son and his room mate Simon. I cooked up a nice meal, we talked, Cindy and I drank wine and Simon treated us to a tea party of sorts with teas he had brought back with him from Japan. It wasn’t the sort of stuff that you usually see all packaged up nice and neat in a tea bag. It was loose tea pellets, leaves rolled up into little balls resembling little rabbit poops. And, no, it didn’t taste like poop! It was good and a cultural experience that I quite enjoyed. Thank you, Simon. With that, we ended our evening. Kiss, kiss and goodnight.

Stay tuned for the conclusion of our little adventure, to follow in next weeks blog.

 

K.L. Parry

One response »

  1. Pingback: Part 3 ~ Davis, Here I Come! « Fun Stuff Blog and Reviews

Leave a Reply

